National Research Nuclear University

National Research Nuclear University MEPhI is one of the most recognized technical universities in Russia. MEPhI was founded in 1942 as Moscow Mechanical Institute of Munitions but it was soon renamed Moscow Mechanical Institute. Its original mission was to train skilled personnel for the Soviet military and atomic programs. It was renamed the Moscow Engineering Physics Institute in 1953, which was its name until 2009. By the law document, issued by the Russian Government on April 8, 2009 the university MEPhI was granted the new status. The university was reorganized. The aim of the university existence is now preparing the specialists by giving them higher professional, post-graduation professional, secondary professional and additional professional education, as well as educational and scientific activities.

There is the reactor of pool-type in the territory of the university. MEPhI has close connections with Federal Atomic Energy Agency and International Atomic Energy Agency. The university is the ground for holding different events in the science world. Beginning from 1997 MEPhI "opens doors" for school talents, organizing the youth contest "Junior".


  • Faculty of Experimental and Theoretical Physics
  • Physico-Technical Faculty
  • Faculty of Automation and Electronics.
  • Graduate School of physicists name N.G. Basov.
  • Principal Physical College
  • Faculty of Cybernetics.
  • Faculty of Information Security.
  • Faculty of Management and Economics of High Technologies.
  • Faculty of staff training and retraining.
  • Prevocational training center.
  • Faculty of Physics and Power Engineering
  • Faculty of Natural Sciences
  • Socio-Economics Faculty
  • Medical Institute, Medical Faculty


  • Department of Accounting and Audit
  • Department of Automation
  • Department of Chemical Physics
  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of Computer Systems and Technologies
  • Department of Cybernetics
  • Department of Electrical Engineering
  • Department of Electronic Measuring Systems
  • Department of Electronics
  • Department of Electrophysical Installations
  • Department of Experimental Nuclear Physics and Cosmophysics
  • Department of Financial Management
  • Department of Foreign Languages
  • Department of General Physics
  • Department of History
  • Department of Information Protection
  • Department of Laser Physics
  • Department of Materials Science
  • Department of Mathematical Software for Systems
  • Department of Medical Physics
  • Department of Micro- and Nanoelectronics
  • Department of Molecular Physics
  • Department of Plasma Physics
  • Department of Radiation Physics, Biophysics, and Ecology
  • Department of Russian Languange
  • Department of Strategic information research
  • Department of Strength Physics
  • Department of Thermal Physics
  • Department of Theoretical and Experimental Physics of Nuclear Reactors
  • Department of Theoretical Nuclear Physics
  • Economic-Analytical Institute
  • Institute for international relations

Cities of training
  "Our representatives"

  Mr. Karwan H.F Jwamer
   Kurdistan Region -Sulaimani-Iraq
        Tell: +07701428111
    P.O.Box 442